All is safely gathered in...

Back to my favourite field this evening, just as they were finishing harvesting the Oil Seed Rape... you can just see the combine to the left of the tree, way off in the distance.

Here is the same field on 12th June 2013

And November 2011

I picked blackberries whilst out walking, it's a real bumper crop this year so I shall be freezing plenty. When I got home I sorted out the freezer and guess what I found? Blackberries from last year!!!

This evening was what I call 'Freezer supper'

Wednesday Recipe: (Number 5)

Fish Finger Sandwich - classy, delicious and cheap.
If you've never had an FFS wake up and get cooking.
Per person:
4 Fish fingers, grilled or oven cooked.
2 slices of bread.
Ketchup, mayonnaise or tartare sauce to taste.

Cost:
4 Fish fingers 50 p
2 slices bread 15 p
Sauce - pick up an extra free sachet next time you can - I always do!

Blackberry and apple crumble:
Frozen Blackberries & apples - enough to 3/4 fill a dish.
Crumble mix:
4 oz plain flour white or wholemeal
4 oz porridge oats
4 oz butter (cold - from the fridge) (butter tastes so much better than a substitute that its worth the extra cost)
2 oz sugar white or demerara (+ another couple of oz to sprinkle on top)

Chop butter into small cubes and rub it into the flour using your fingers, or a fork, until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.
Mix in the oats and sugar.
Sprinkle the mixture over the fruit - Do not press down!
Sprinkle a little extra sugar over the surface.
Bake in the oven at 180 deg C for about 30 mins or until the fruit is cooked through.
Serves 4 people

Serve with ice cream, (or cream or custard.)
Cost:
Fruit - free
Crumble mix (Butter, oats flour & sugar) 80 p for 4 portions

I like adding oats to my crumble mix, it gives additional taste and texture and is a good way of keeping down the amount of wheat (gluten) in your diet.

Enjoy!

Others in the series are tagged wed-recipe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.