Sky Marble

I needed space on Tuesday to wind down from a busy day.

Most of my life I've been used to having space, not necessarily open air (I haven't *always* been a lover of the great outdoors...) but as a child I had the converted attic room and I would disappear up there with music and books and be quite happy to be solitary until I began to starve.

I'd occasionally think that if something happened and I was stranded by myself on a desert island or something, apart from the practicalities of survival, I could probably amuse myself for a good twenty years with a coconut and some rocks.

Don't misunderstand, I like people and am not a 'loner' or antisocial, I've just always been used to having space.

I love my job but it doesn't always afford me space (and to be fair I wouldn't change that), so to be able to find space in my own time is essential to me.

On Tuesday, I headed up to the moor, found a spot, and just sat and watched the sunset for 40 minutes or so. The air was cool, the sounds were both nature and man-made but they faded as I sat back and thought of pretty much nothing except how wonderful it was that when the sun set it gave up it's colours in burnished ribbons across the sky, instead of just dropping behind the horizon without fanfare.

More marbles (and kestrels) here :o)

Thanks for the response to Buckden and Beyond :o) I enjoyed writing that entry as much as I enjoyed getting the photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.