Going in for the kill

I witnessed a curious incident today. A ned, armed with a milkshake and a nedette, approached a smoker at the Newington bus stop we were waiting at.

Ned: "Gonnae gies a tab likes?"
Bloke: "Sorry, this is my last one."
Ned: "Aww, likes gonnae just gie us yin eh?"
Bloke: "I don't have any."
Ned: "Aye ye do, yer smokin' wan."

(Bloke walks away, ned follows)

Ned: "Gies that tab yer smokin' or I'll put ma yoghurt in yer face."
Bloke: "Okay, okay, here you go."

Ned walks away with barely 1cm of unsmoked roll-up taken right out of someone's mouth whilst everyone else at the bus-stop (myself included) watched in silent disgust without saying a word.

Unbelievable, but what can you do?

Later that day, in Buchanan Street, Glasgow, I watched with fascination as this Shelter guy tried to get the attention of passers-by in order to, well, I've no idea, as I always react the same way as 99% of the people who walked by this guy; wave hand, apologise, walk swiftly on.

There has to be a better way to get money out of people, surely?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.