Punchdrunk

Tonight I had my very first experience of immersive theatre. Punchdrunk are renowned for their shows, but I was a little bit sceptical after reading some very average reviews. As it was, I completely enjoyed all three hours of the performance, after I'd got over the fear that someone was going to jump out in the dark! I won't give too much away, but when you arrive, all visitors are given a white mask, ushered into a lift, and introduced to the murky world of Temple Studios in 1940s Hollywood. The company have taken over four floors of an old sorting office in Paddington and converted them beyond recognition. The lighting is low, and you are free to wander and explore; stumbling upon actors and action; both within the world of the movie studios and in the 'real' world outside. There are definite criticisms, and you have to be prepared to catch snatches here and there as it would be impossible to see everything that's going on, but the sheer scale of the production and detail in the sets make it unmissable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.