Herring Gull

Today I took a stroll down to the big lake here in Lahti. Naturally I had no long zoom lens with me. To my surpise I got a few shots with my 24-105 lens of a bird swooping around that I believe is the European Herring Gull (Larus argentatus). If I am wrong - and anyone out there in northern hemisphere blipland can correct me, then please do so.

It is a large gull (up to 26 inches or 66 cm long) and is one of the best known of all gulls along the shores of western Europe. It is quite a bit bigger than our Aussie seagulls we see in our home state. The Herring Gull breeds across Northern Europe, Western Europe, Central Europe, Eastern Europe, Scandinavia and the Baltic states.

Some European Herring Gulls, especially those resident in colder areas, migrate further south in winter, but many are permanent residents, e.g. in the British Isles, Iceland, or on the North Sea shores.

European Herring Gulls are also abundant around inland rubbish dumps, and some have even adapted to life in inland cities. This one has its first winter plumage.

Better herring bone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.