Caz's Shashins

By shashins

In amongst them!

Stopped off at the duck pond on my way home tonight to try out some more wide angle shots.

Standing at the side, taking some shots, I could see the swans powering over in the hope of food, 2 adults and 7 full grown cygnets! I continued snapping away, moving along the shore for a different perspective. Next thing I notice a gap in the undergrowth, which all 9 swans had now reached. The cygnets climbing straight out and headed for me, eager for the bread I didn't have. In true blipper style I decided that this would be great use of my new lens so kneeled down and captured some group images.

I then lowered my camera from my eye and realised that a wide angle makes thing seem much further away than they really are, the swans in the image were within 6 inches of my nose! I decided this was not good and stood up to find both adults behind me in a semi-protective frame of mind, even less good than before. Rather than run for the car I attempted to back slowly away with the only exit being between the adults, one pecked my rear and the other hissed mildly, slightly concerning, but head down I continued backwards and made it safely back to the car.

Today I learned, wide angle is closer than you think; do not allow large birds to circle you while kneeling; take bread everywhere!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.