Light & sight

By CameronDP

City of fog

I'd planned to go with a spectacular blue mural outside a dance studio today - one of the many eye-catching examples of street art you find downtown - but this skyline pipped it to the post in the end, because it's just so San Francisco. That's the famous fog unfurling there. Apparently the fog appears at certain times of the year, when cold water from the Pacific Ocean mingles with waters from from the Bay which have been warmed by contact with the land...off to the right you can see the iconic Twin Peaks radio tower, a local landmark.
This shot was taken from close to the summit of Bernal Heights, a hill which lends its name to my brother's neighbourhood. The path up is pretty steep and tricky in places - with loose stones and soily scree generously sprinkled around the slopes. I really had to concentrate, but my six year niece Evie was completely undaunted, sailing up the steep bits and down them again without putting a be-croc'ed foot wrong, chatting happily all the way. When I mentioned this to my brother his remark was 'lower centre of gravity, you see...'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.