Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

A different perspective...

From across the table, beautiful faces smiled and laughed. They shone with youth and vitality, the glow of promise and enchantment sparkling from the corners of crystal eyes. Last night was fun, if perplexing....

The phones flashed on and off as they checked txt, Facebook and took posed pictures, it was harmless fun but each picture had to be checked...."what do I look like in it?" From my corner of the table I watched, not aloof, but not quite there either. Check the phones and it's like I'm not there, no comic poses, no pouts, no need for my face to be caught for posterity. I'm just there....invisible......

Standing on the bridge, the cool morning air blowing over my freshly shaved head, it was nice to see the worlds indifference to me. I was just there....the swans looked at me and then glided on, a fly took a quick buzz round and the spider on its web scuttled off when I leant on the rail. Just there...just part of it all. Nothing special, just me, no need for fuss, no need for my every moment to be captured (only as a memory).

The clamour for attention, the need for recognition, the 'I am special' sensation, Like this, TAG that, POKE me, jeepers! What a fuss! I'm glad that I wasn't quite there last night. I'd rather be here....not there. We all had fun, I love the guys...they're good people, but, it's all a bit much. As the world let me be this morning, I felt at home again. Me, myself and I, part of it all....

Oh well, here we go again...more wonderful, beautiful, amazing, joyful, tragic, sad and simply glorious life! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.