Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Damsel-heart

Although I'm told this is a common posture for mating damselflies, it's the first time I've actually seen it. Really cool, isn't it? Shame I didn't still have that Nikon 105mm lens ... but I dropped it off at FedEx this morning (with a little tear in my eye...)

Great walk in Allamuchy State Park today where we saw lots of warblers, lots of damsels and Autumn Meadowhawks, and three Solitary Sandpipers (migrants). This is a great time of year for birding as lots of species are on the move, heading south, and NJ is right in the flyway. However, in spite of lots of great birds, these damsels are my "memory" shot today.

And, this is also for my hubs, to whom I have been married 12 years, and 362 days - love you, man.

Tomorrow I am off to meet up with a friend for a hike in a wildlife management area that is a favorite of mine. We'll be toting binoculars and camera gear - let's hope it doesn't rain!

Thanks for sending my Green Dudette (thanks to Chameleo for identifying her as a female, hence a Dudette) to the Spotlight. I saw a freakishly large cousin of hers today - a mantis that was at least 3 inches, not including the legs! You can see a Mantis Head Shot, plus 4 other shots from today HERE on Flickr.

Happy Friday, people - and to my friends in the US ... it's a 3-day weekend! Yippee!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.