BowBelle

By BowBelle

Peacock posing

I was most surprised just now, when I went out to feed the birds and water the hanging baskets, to find this little peacock butterfly laying prostrate on the patio. I thought at first he was dead as he seemed not to be moving at all - but then he gave the slightest shiver of his wings and I knew he was okay. I dashed back inside to grab my camera and he was still there when I got back. He posed for me while I set up this shot and he was still there after I'd finished my early morning chores in the garden. I must have watched him for a further ten minutes or so before he suddenly lifted off and went about his business. I suspect he was trying to soak up enough warmth from the pale sun to give him the strength he needed to find his next feed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.