dfb24

By dfb24

Harley Davidson 110th. Anniversary Parade

Funny how some days you struggle to get a blip, & other days it's hard to choose which pic to use because you have so many to choose from. Today I had "many". The Harley Davidson Motorcycle Company is located here in Milwaukee, & from this past Thurs. through this Sunday, there's a huge 110th Anniversary Celebration going on! They have major entertainment--Toby Keith kicked off the start of the celebration last Thurs. night @ the Marcus Amphitheter-- Aerosmith performed there last night, & tonight it will feature Kid Rock. There have been rides, parties, sales of all kinds of Harley memorabilia, free admission to the Harley Museum, Harley shows with both new & classic bikes, etc.....today was the parade downtown. I talked my husband into going, thinking I'd get some pics for today's blip, & that it would be a quick "in & out ". I had no idea that literally thousands of people were lining Wisconsin Ave. to see the parade! There were Harley riders from as far away as Indonesia, Argentina, Germany & Japan to name just a few countries. There were also sherrifs from all over the US (the sheriff depts. in the US drive Harleys on patrol) --some travelled over 1000 miles from their home states to get here. There was also a large contingent of sheriffs from the OPP in Canada....Every group got rousing cheers all the way down the Avenue! It was much harder to take pictures than I anticipated, because all the people (ok--including me) kept going further & further out into the street to try to get pictures around all the OTHER people who were standing out in the street! In the end, loving history as I do, I went with the single 1940's era Harley with the "MP" driving. I did put more pics in my blipfolio if anyone's interested in seeing them. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.