shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Putting something together

As I have pointed out several times recently, the nights are drawing in, and winter is on its way. Now as I wander on through blip year No 3, I do want to try and avoid repetition of the same things all the time (the same things some of the time is absolutely fine in my book!) so saw wee Lego figures for sale and thought 'a-ha!' (and heard a wee burst of 80's music in my head, seeing as I'm channelling my childhood with the Lego, why not go the whole hog! But I digress...)

So, Lego figures will be appearing on days I don't get anything more real world, maybe even sometimes in bizarre locations and situations designed to make me (and hopefully at least some of you) smile. This shot is thegritty set up before the technicolour madness bleeds into my blips.

Please do also note that the Lego building will be of the traditional - build it, break it, build something else - format, none of that all to common nowadays get a set, build it, play with it, but never break it up to build something else. I've seen it in my own nephew, and others, and having just discussed it wit my flatmate it seems it is all too common and I find it disturbing. In my mind the whole point of Lego is developing the imagination as well as tapping potential for small scale civil or mechanical engineering projects - or if you have lots of patience, large scale projects! So, the Christmas elf, the wee grannie, the potholer and the madchen may not always be seen as their wee instruction sheets (really, instruction sheets for Lego kits of 6-8 pieces??? Are there really that many ways to go wrong that they have to tell you how to put them together?) present them. I particularly look forward to the axe wielding grannie (I may have to go looking for a bottle of Buckfast as a fitting background. Won't have to look far round here!). I will admit, however, that the highlight of my day has been putting a skirt on a Lego figure, significantly raising the tone after a long day at work (Board meeting and most of next week out of the office or off so lots of stuff to get sorted) in its sheer surreality!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.