Of rich and royal hue..

By mintlawquine

King Street

The Athenaeum dominates the top of King Street in Stirling with its spire and majestic statue of William Wallace. It was built in 1816 as a reading room. In 1859 the statue and portico were added by Charles Rogers, the man responsible for the Wallace Monument.

I had a lovely day today meeting up with a couple of friends from school and university days after a gap of a good few years. We had a leisurely lunch in Brea in Baker Street, a new eatery to me, that had been recommended by my sister-in-law. And very good it was too. Then a further blether in the pub across the road. We were able to sit outside too in the sunshine, an added bonus in Scotland at the end of August.

A little large bit of retail therapy preceded this as I had arrived early and felt I just had to take the opportunity to explore the shops. I'm a country quine after all and don't get then chance hit the shops very often!

Relaxing now with my mum in front of the tellie....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.