Cityscapes

By bluewlf04

A shared moment

I was hiking along at a rather fast clip in an effort to make it back to the car before it got dark. Near the bottom of the Cedar Run Trail things leveled out and I thought I could make up some time. I turned a sharp curve and was watching the ground carefully to avoid tripping over any stones when suddenly I glanced up and found myself staring at this young Black Bear. It was hardly forty feet in front of me, uphill and upwind. If you were watching me I'm sure I stopped so fast it looked like I hit a wall.

Quickly I scanned my surroundings looking for other bears.

Momma bears.

Angry bears.

Thankfully I didn't see any. As I turned my attention back to this youngster I mechanically removed my lenscap, raised the camera, and flicked the power switch. I framed this single shot and pressed the button before turning and very quickly walking back down the trail. I went probably another fifteen paces around the corner and stood there waiting. My heart was pounding and I fully expected to hear branches snapping as a 300 lb ball of muscle came hurtling my direction in an effort to protect her baby. Instead, after a minute of silence I returned down the trail to find this little guy ambling up the hill.

All I know is that its fur was by far the most beautiful deep, rich black I have ever seen. I have not the faintest idea what was going through the bear's mind as we stood there staring at one another, but I know I won't soon forget this moment we shared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.