All the fun of the fair

Sweet smell of doughnuts,
The breath of frying onions.
Under gaudy lights,
Tawdry paint comes to life,
With an insistent bass pulse.


I did something I don't normally do today, I did a special blip trip. Normally I just take photographs of whatever catches my eye during the day and then decide what to blip. But today, the sky promised a fine sunset, and the fair was in town.

I had noticed that the fair was in town when we went in last night to see Elysium. It was good (mainly because it had Matt Damon in it), great effects etc, but something was lacking. The plot was a bit obvious ... a sort of amalgam of 1984, Blade Runner and Terminator (which I haven's seen so I'm guessing)..... . The characterisation was comic book .... but maybe I was missing the point ..... anyway an enjoyable ripping yarn. But I digress.....

...I thought that the sun might set behind the best vantage point for the fairground, so round about sunset time I drove into town with the specific purpose of getting a blip. Needless to say I got it completely wrong. The sun had already pretty much vanished by the time I go there, and it wouldn't have set where I thought it might anyway. Never mind, I had a wander about and took some pics... this is one of them ...

The lesson I have learnt is that I should go back to my more haphazard approach ..... or become much more focussed.....so haphazard it is then .... normal service will be resumed tomorrow.

If you have read this far .... please award yourself a house point and have a sweetie from the Treats Jar.

More fairground pics here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.