When You're a Stranger

Today is officially the first day of spring here in NZ so I thought I would head to the Red Barn again to photograph the lambs that were born on Friday. Here are Twinkle and Crinkle - two of triplets. Three was too many for Mum to cope with so their brother Sprinkle has been sent off to be hand reared.

A trip to the Red Barn also gave me the chance to accost find a stranger and ask them to be my 'When You're a Stranger" subject. I had planned to photograph someone in Nelson last Friday but then decided that I should ask someone at 'my place'. Seeing the Red Barn is somewhere I spend a lot of my free time it seemed an appropriate venue.

There were plenty of people there when I arrived because a group of Nelson Rock 'n' Rollers had called in for coffee on their way back from a dance in Westport. Don seemed to be a bit of a character - I could tell this because the others were all giving him a hard time - so I plucked up the courage and asked him if I could take his photo. He obliged - with all the others calling advice on how he should pose and complaining that he always got the attention and why didn't I want to take their photos too.

It was a nervewracking business, asking a stranger if I could photograph them, which is why I deliberately singled out the 'character' of the group - someone outgoing seemed to me to be more like to say yes. Thanks Don.

SO... now there is a black and white camera in my possession that is ready to go off to someone else - do any of you Murchison or Marlborough bilppers want a turn?

NOTE: Happy Fathers Day Dad. x x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.