2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

My first macarons

These are the macarons that I had a go at making for the first time yesterday. They are certainly not perfect but they taste lovely. I think I've learned that 1) I should have read more about how to do them first, 2) I chose the wrong colour food dye (yellow) because they don't look that pretty, 3) I don't think my meringue was stiff enough to start off with ( I think if I'd tipped my bowl over my head, I'd have had a meringue hat), 4) I should have done better than just use melted chocolate for the filling, 5), I should have bashed them on the table before I let them stand to get rid of air bubbles, and 6) I should have drawn nice regular circles on my baking parchment so that they all ended up the same size. That said, they are a bit shiny, they are still soft inside, some of them are the same size, they look as if they might have 'feet' and they taste pretty good. This is the recipe I used for the macaroons (but not the filling).

Did pilates (a very energetic class) and then straight on to body pump this morning. I'm now beginning to feel all kinds of muscles that I've not used for a few weeks. Could be interesting tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.