TuppenceAbag

By TuppenceAbag

In it together.

I hated tomatoes all through my childhood.
Couldn't stand them. Love them now. Good job
really, since I live in Italy, I suppose.

Tastes change as we grow up, don't they?
But it's always a subjective thing with
food. You like what you like. That's fine.

Beauty is a whole other kettle of fish, though.
Fish. Now there's something that tastes great
with tomatoes. Oven-baked. But I digress.

Who's to say what's beautiful and what isn't?
Large or small. Fat or thin. White, black, olive,
brown, yellow. The rainbow has lots of colours.

Not a surprise really that rainbows represent
peace. Because there's a synergy. Every shade
is present. And in harmony with its companions.

The water's lovely. Come on in! But not you! You
smell. You dress funny. You don't speak "properly".
Your religion makes me feel uncomfortable.

You're too fat. You should get some exercise.
You're so skinny! Are you ill? Your sexual
preferences/sexuality/gender are WRONG!

So quick to judge. Especially as now we have
keyboards and screens to hide behind. No
need for coherent thought even. Just click.

I hate hating. But if there's one thing I do
hate it's prejudice. There's room for us all.
Planet's very big. Wish we could get along.


Mez

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.