All about Lallybroch

By Lallybroch

Arm Painting

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. Up 3 times during the night with an upset Ethan, still complaining of a headache. He seemed to perk up around 8am when Eden arrived (I was looking after both kids today as Granny and Grandpa still on holiday so couldn't do their usual Friday shift). My pal Lesley came round with Logan for a wee playdate but Ethan had dipped just before they got here and after only 15 minutes, the playdate was abandoned. I felt so bad she had walked round here for nothing!

The rest of the day was just awful. Ethan was clearly in a lot of pain with headaches again and it seemed to take 30-40 minutes for the calpol / baby nurofen to have any effect. He would spend that time curled up on my lap, screaming in pain. Of course Eden then wanted cuddles too and is too young to understand that Ethan needed comfort. She also kept choosing the wrong moments to come and ask me to read her a story - not really possible when Ethan bawling in pain. Mid afternoon I ended up phoning NHS 24 for advice but could barely hear the woman on the phone, Ethan was crying so loudly. The couldn't advise anything different to what I was already doing (alternating calpol with nurofen) but said for me to phone my GP. I did, but again they just gave the same advice. I could have cried when I phoned hubbie and he told me he'd be late home from work - aaaaargh!

Once the calpol kicked in, the kids did ask to do some face painting! I compromised with letting them do arm painting on their own arms, rather than have them paint my face, which is what Ethan had wanted to do!

By early evening Ethan seemed a bit better though and him and Eden went off to bed in his room happily enough. Just hope he's not up during the night and doesn't wake her up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.