Trisharooni

By trisharooni

My Friend the Wonga Pigeon

Now that the renos are complete we are able to  keep an eye on the wildlife in the garden.

This photo doesn't do the wonga pigeon justice.
It's a seriously big pigeon.

I've become quite attached to it, though I now understand that the reason it spends so much time here is that it can't help itself.  
It's a ground forager and is compelled to follow the same path and actually makes a track.

The males and females are indistinguishable, but I have discovered that this one is immature, having grey and not red legs.
They are monogamous, but I'm a bit worried that ours will have trouble pairing up, as I've not seen another.

It is possibly the only pigeon with white meat and was considered very good eating by early white settlers, who sent some back to Old Blighty in the hope that they would become acclimatised.

Oh, and originally they were known as the Wonga Wonga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.