The Poss

By PossMan

Tegonaria gigantea

Otherwise know as a "house spider". Mrs P called me to see this which was clinging to our bedroom curtains late at night. After a few shots I put it out the window but I had to shut it pretty quickly as it tried to come back. There was a short story about them in The Times last week as apparently they normally stay out in sheds etc but come in to the house in autumn. The Society of Biology is carrying out a survey and want householders to report sightings or send in pictures. They are interested to find out how the timing varies with place and weather. It says that when you see one scurry along the floor and then stop it's not because its thinking but just knackered. The males are looking for mates but they're not doing it in my bed hence the expulsion, at least for now, of this one. I don't mind them much but don't like the idea of them crawling over me when I'm asleep. There are several species but you need a microscope to tell them apart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.