Of rich and royal hue..

By mintlawquine

Free veggies!

I went for a wee walk in Bannockburn tonight after tea to stretch my legs after sitting all day at the conference. I'm having a final evening with my mum before heading north tomorrow morning.

I came across what looked like a standard "Cooncil" flower bed, until I took a closer look and noticed that alongside the begonias were a selection of vegetables, and the hanging baskets in the middle were full of herbs! It seems that Stirling Council is providing free veg for its residents. That's one way of helping folk to get their five a day! It looks like chard and broccoli were not very popular. nor red cabbage. However as for ordinary cabbage only the stalks remain, so at least some of this bounty was being used and not left to seed.

Maybe I could suggest that Aberdeenshire Council tries this out next year? Food for thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.