Cully

By Cully

Glass Cone

A less successful bike ride today. We planned to go to my nan's house and see how far it was with our new cycle app. About twenty minutes on to the journey I gained pace as I saw a bridge coming up. Unfortunately my front wheel hit a piece of wood sticking out the ground sending me one way and the bike the other. It was luckily a soft landing in long grass and not the canal but there were on lookers who were very nice and didn't laugh until I picked myself up and met the boy the other side of the bridge.

The boy was relieved to see me laughing and after checking my bike first, then me, we were back on route stopping for a drink about another twenty minutes on. The lump on my leg grew bigger and bigger as I sat in the sun with my blackcurrant squash. We thought it was best to head home and drive to my Nan's.

After checking my bruises this evening it just shows how much damage you can do cycling even at my snail pace. I must start wearing my helmet.

We managed 13.9 miles averaging 6 miles an hour. I blame all the gates. Must try harder!

Watched a bit more of Schindler's List this evening, resting my wounds but still not finished!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.