Alan Taylor

By alantaylor

What a View

Day off work so perfect opportunity to 'bag' a couple of Corbetts. Left home at 6.30am and arrived at Invergaunan in Glen Orchy at ~7.50am. Boots on, car locked then I was on my way up the glen following the Allt Ghamhnain to below the famous quartzite band (the one you see driving south through Bridge of Orchy) on Beinn Udlaidh.

If anyone who's thinking about climbing Beinn Udlaidh and Beinn Bhreac-liath from Glen Orchy comes across this, beware that the ground all around the Allt Ghamhnain is very very wet! My boots and trousers were soaking before I got anywhere near the hill.

After clearing the trees I left the river and headed uphill, eventually reaching the lowest visible section of the quartzite band. I followed this right the way up. After reaching a flatter section just before the summit, I came across a golden eagle. Unfortunately I'd been slogging my way up the hill, head down, sweat dripping from forehead, and hadn't seen the eagle, so I didn't get a photograph. I heard a sound and looked up to see it jump up and take off. A magnificient sight and the second time I've seen one in the Scottish hills.

The rest of the walk was fairly dull in comparison, but the picture above is looking across to Beinn Dorain and Auch Glen (Gleann Ach'-innis Chailein to be precise, but who can pronounce that??) from the summit of Beinn Bhreac-liath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.