AMK49

By AMK49

Farrier at work

This afternoon I decided to have a photographic outing as it was such a beautiful day and I was on the look out for some nice harvest photographs - which I did get.
I ended up at my brother's farm where I was brought up and which is now almost entirely occupied by horses at livery.
This young man, who is the 8th generation of blacksmith in his family, and his dad were shoeing a couple of horses and I couldn't resist the sight of hot shoes being fitted. I can remember as a boy watching his grandfather doing the same job at his smiddy in the neighbouring village and the smell of the hot shoe being applied , the clouds of smoke and the noise of the shoes being shaped on the anvil. Gone are the days , at least in our area, of the horses coming to the blacksmith.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.