Opening night

A gloriously sunny day took Fred and I to Battersea Park for a walk and a chat. I enjoyed a cheese toastie at the Italian café and raised an eyebrow at an American lady asking for ranch sauce for her vegetables. The Italian chap behind the counter pointed out the balsamic vinegar and the olive oil, but the lady really wanted ranch sauce. Mustard was the chosen substitute. I wish I could have blipped the Italian's expression, but he'd already told me off for not having picked up a tray so I wouldn't have dared take his picture.

Later in the afternoon, we went to the opening of the newest shop in West Norwood. It's very close to where I live and it's managed by one of the stall holders, The Record Man, from Retro Village (the hub I help to look after at the West Norwood FEAST). He's the first FEAST stall holder to move into a bricks and mortar shop and it's wonderful! The shop is in an old pub and it has the original tiles on the front and handpainted signage in old pub style.

The opening night began with West Norwood Cassette Library, who's a friend and neighbour, and knows how to get our feet tapping. His set was followed by Metamono (blipped), one of whom has been a stall holder at Retro. I've no idea how they make their music, but it's fascinating to watch: all dials and switches. They had the whole shop bopping in no time and there were plenty of people walking past on their way to and from the station, wondering what on Earth was going on in the old, abandoned pub. Three cheers for Michael The Record Man for bringing us West Norwood joy. It was a lot of fun. Here's to the next gig.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.