the little things...2013

By cometlovescupid

Dinner Disaster

Tonight's dinner started off so well.

I made a Souhwestern Style Salad - black beans, kidney beans, red onion, sweetcorm, tomatoes, spring onions, jalapeno, lime juice olive oil and avocado.

I thought that I'd serve it on some spinach with a toasted bread thin and poached eggs and grilled bacon on top.

I was poaching the eggs when I smelt a funny smell. Then realised that I'd forgot to put enough water in the poacher and saw I'd completely melted the poaching cups and ruined the eggs!

And, when checking under the grill I found I'd also burnt the bacon so much that it crunched when you ate it. A bit like chewing salty gravel. Lovely.

In the end I tried making poached eggs in the fancy way - putting water in a pan, swirling it until it creates a vortex and dropping the egg in.

It's supposed to bind together but unfortunately the whites ballooned up and seperated and the finished result was a bit like a soggy parachute.

I remembered (too late) that adding vinegar to the water stops the whites from spreading.

After the second egg fiasco, I then dropped the toast I the floor (at this point I was ready to chuck the whole lot out the window!)

I should have just kept it simple and had a bowl full of the salad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.