NStephens

By NStephens

Ockers Oasis

To be honest, I couldn't think of a more worthy figure to feature in my 200th blipfoto than my grandfather. He has been the one constant in my time in the Riverina and I've thoroughly enjoyed his company and I'm sure he has enjoyed mine. In that way we have complemented each other these last few months and in the process rekindled a once strong childhood bond (I no doubt had some catch up to do after living overseas for 9 years....& whether I like it or not, his time is running out!).
Today I returned to his house after work and found him out on his front veranda appreciating the late afternoon sunshine....just as I did yesterday. However today when I captured him, the look on his face I found was that of a contented man, happy with his lot in life...something I sure we all aim for in life! I haven't taken a monochrome photo for a while but I just love this shot! The unique effect the lighting has on the window and door gives us an insight into the Oasis he is looking into, one which he has built over the last 50 odd years and is happy with. (Or maybe he was just thinking....'Gees I could have a beer at the Bowling Club right now'....which is directly across the road from his house). Either way, it's his Oasis, and he loves what he sees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.