Let's hold hands & both jump together.

On a whim, most of what I do appears to happen like that. I decided to harvest/keep some Stipa gigantea seeds. Since found it's called "Golden Oats"
I wasn't sure if they'd all dropped, so I looked beneath for any lying loose first. I found one or two, sufficient to cause me to take a closer look at the inflorescence and, lo and behold, there were still several seeds in situ. From the loose ones I could see they were equipped with long, bent, hairy, things.
When I started to gently draw them forth it became apparent that many pairs of close neighbours had twisted together. I wonder if this is accidental, or an evolutionary thing whereby the paired ones  ...
A) Act more propellor like.
B) Double their chance of germination at the point of landing.
C) Merely ensure the land "right" way up for easy germination.

Suggestions in a plain brown envelope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.