Sharing a cocktail

We celebrated my retirement eight months late today with a trip to the Walnut Tree restaurant at Llanddewi Skirrid, just outside Abergavenny. It is the most marvellous place if you like really good food without pretensions like foam, tiny drops of reductions too small to eat, microscopic carrots with foliage attached and so on. Anyway, we kicked off with a cocktail outside, only we found the locals wanted to share, so when I'd had my fill, beating them off the while, I allowed them in. One, pictured above, has probably got an almighty headache now.
My meal started with mackerel and potato rasam, then a main of rabbit and beans cooked in a rustic French style (I can't remember the official name), and greengage tart with honey ice-cream to round it off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.