mara rago photography

By mararago

"me & my dad"

me & my dad.

my father was diagnosed with lung cancer just days before this photo was taken. I took a series of five photographs, all of which are clear and sharp. all except this one.
the haze around him is unexplainable. Those who look at it say they see the Blessed Mother in the neck & chest area and an angelic figure on his right shoulder.

while in the darkroom, i noticed the haze was in the negative, so i called kodak to see if i had done something wrong. light leak? not enough agitation? bad developer? they said to look at the photo prior & after this one was taken and asked how they looked. all were clear... kodak had no idea.

i call this piece "divine intervention" in honor of my dad.

carmine f. rago
1922-1997

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.