Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Virgin flyers

A detour to do a pickup from the post office allowed me an unexpected opportunity this morning.

As I was just leaving town I spotted a hot air balloon in the distance through the trees. Couldn't tell which direction it was going in, but, luckily it headed right over my route. Only had the G10 but, although already late, the opportunity had to be taken.

Am no expert, but I suspect it was actually scouting for somewhere to land. Just under where they were there is a group of pools, but just beyond there's a nine hole golf course. The sun was coming up and the air warming quickly. It was slowly descending with brief squirts on the burners as it drifted over. As it passed right overhead I missed just one burn as I dived to get the camera out the car, but it didn't do another until it was a couple of hundred yards away. I didn't get a decent shot with the burners on. But, eh, you don't get them flying over every day so, these Virgin Flyers are my blip for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.