stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Trains, Pools and Pelican Food

Chains, Children's Pool, Newcastle, New South Wales

When I spoke to Jenny last night to arrange details for today's trip to Newcastle, I had no idea where the station was and when the trains ran. A quick dive into Museum Station to pick up a timetable sorted the latter. When I logged on and checked google maps, I couldn't believe how close Central Station was, which resolved the former. So, it was up at the crack of dawn and down to the station with an overnight bag and camera backpack for the 8:15 train to Newcastle. A little under three hours later and another important day of my holiday began. My second blip meet!

Jenny met me off the train and immediately took me on a tour of the town. A wealth of information was thrown in my direction and I loved hearing all about Newcastle. After a visit to Fort Scratchley, some lunch and a drive/walk around the front to see some of those famous Jensphotos shooting locations up close, including those amazing rusting chains around the children's pool.

From there, it was back to the house to pick up the adorable Hamish and Hannah before we all we drove down to The Entrance to watch the daily pelican feeding. A massive crowd surrounded these monster birds as they flew in, some delicately, some not so much, to take part in the spectacle. It was really funny watching these guys at the table. Characters all, each of them tried their upmost to get as much of the succulent offerings down their gobs as possible, some going so far as sneaking their beaks in under the crate lid as it was lifted to retrieve some more fish. Cheeky beggars!

Afterwards we headed down to Norah Head Lighthouse for an unexpected but wonderful addition to the side project. We arrived just as a wedding party was beginning their photo shoot. They had had an amazing day for it and I have to say, the backdrop of the lighthouse and the blue ocean beyond was an amazing choice and something I'm sure they'll remember forever. After shooting the lighthouse and taking a couple of candies of the flower girls playing on the grass, Jenny and I headed down to the beach to shoot some more. Only when the wedding party join us did we leave them to it. As the sun grew lower in the sky, the light grew softer and presented a totally different vision. A short drive down the coast saw us take in the sunset with the lighthouse in the background. I also saw my first whale of the trip here too. A few white plumes out to sea as it made its way north. Some people already there had said there was also a seal about too but I never saw that and soon the light was gone.

Back to Jenny's for a home cooked meal. Mmmm... Lamb and roast vegetables. Absolutely delish it was too, but the pièce de résistance was dessert. PAVLOVA! An all time favourite back home and centrepiece to many a celebration dinner. Crimbo, birthdays and really just any time the family gets together, a pavlova is a must and so to have an Australian classic in Australia just made my day! I was also given a few pointers for toppings I'd never used. Apparently passionfruit is a must (this information has been passed down the line) and it really did taste fab! The perfect end to a fabulous day out. Thanks so much Jenny.

Back to the hotel for a relatively early night. Tomorrow would be a big day. A Nobby sunrise awaited! :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.