Meeting the New Boss #OxfamScot50

I'm not very coherent now so this might not make sense....

A crazy busy day, marking Oxfam Scotland's 50 anniversary (watch our short video made by my colleagues here), for which our new CEO of Oxfam GB, Mark Goldring, joined us. He came up on he sleeper and was doing radio interviews before 8am.

Meanwhile a team were setting up our refugee camp in Buchanan Street with real equipment from our emergencies warehouse, so most of us got to meet him during our media call. I'm not sure if this one's going in the papers - we'll find out tomorrow! Sarah got to introduce herself properly later, when we could see her again.

When I got back to the office I took a call from a lady in her 80s wanting to know if she could donate to Syria in our shops (you can!) in cash, as she was too old for credit cards and she wanted to give her pension. I thanked her for her generosity, thinking she meant £50. Then she said she was going to take £500! I was a bit alarmed for her but she seemed determined and a couple of hours later we heard from the shop she had indeed turned up safely with the cash.

After a rushed couple of hours finishing getting the office ready (including a mercy dash for door wedges, where the staff of Timpsons gave me a handmade one from their door - I was looking desperate, I didn't really think they would sell them but much less they would have one made from shoe soles lying around. I love Timpsons) we were ready to welcome our guests for a brilliant gathering of former staff, volunteers, donors, partners and other supporters. The food was great, made by one of our partner organisations, the wine (fairtrade) was rather nice too. My feel hurt now but I'm grinning...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.