Theleens

By Theleens

SPC and the Palace Theatre

I had a wonderful night at my new home, The Stamford Photography Club. You know that 'new joiners feeling', the one where you feel shy and hope someone will talk to you. Well, I must say, that feeling left within a few moments of entering the room. What a lovely bunch of people. There was a wonderful slide show of their exhibition 'A Perspective of Time', then we had one of the club members Jun Xu give a presentation from his Africa Medial Trip where, as a doctor, he saw as many as 450 patients a day! A lot of photos and wonderful commentary made you really get a sense of his journey. Most educational.

The final presentation comprised of photos members had taken over the summer break. 18 members submitted their work. Quite amazing, and very cool instrumental music to complement the images.

After this first SPC meeting of the season (September to April) we went to Tiernan's for a drink and I had a lovely time chatting with various members.

I am so looking forward to the next meeting, which takes place in a fortnight. They have a monthly competition which sounds a great way to get educational feedback.

Happy as a bird, I walked home in the cool evening air and did what I do every day: take a photo. However, this time felt different because I was excited about the prospect of becoming a better photographer. I passed by the Palace Theatre and took this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.