SophieCarefull

By SophieCarefull

Admin central.

Today was a day of administrative errands, some successful and others less so! I tackled the supposedly nightmarish task of getting a French bank account which actually turned out to be fairly painless. I went with La Poste since there seem to be millions of branches around. I had hoped sorting this out would allow me to start a rolling phone contract but it turns out I have to wait at least a couple more days until my bank send me my account number in the post to do that. I did however manage to get a student bus pass which is nice, I feel a bit more local now! In the afternoon I went to a huge supermarket where I treated myself to some mini dictionaries and a Bescherelle verb conjugation book; my new best friend, I'm sure. Classes start next week and according to the cashier in the shop I don't speak la langue francaise but to be fair I have never had to say "This measuring jug doesn't have a sticker but I promise it was two euros- it was in this special end of the aisle discount bit with little red boxes with yellow price tags." before and it turns out my vocabulary lacks about 50% of those words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.