Thank you so much Frieda!

Recently Friedaquilter blipped two visits she made to Jupiter Artland, near Edinburgh. I was fascinated and, when she warned me that it closed for the season in September, I decided I must go. So off we went today, realising that one needed a fine day and this might be the last one for a while.

Absolutely fabulous. We had a super day. It’s a huge area of parkland and woodland with lots of paths though trees and open grassland. And dotted all around are art installations of many different kinds and sizes. A map helps you navigate your way. The huge Life Mounds or terraced earthworks are fantastic and we climbed up them and walked along them.

I could describe so much of what is there, but time is now limited as we have only just got back. I will eventually put some pictures on Flick but for the moment, this is one piece that I was very taken with.


Over Here by Shane Waltener
You just come across it in the wood and it takes your breath away. I think Frieda said she gasped when she saw it and I did the same. It is a web 400cm in diameter. It was knitted with circular knitting needles and four strands of fishing line, using a technique inspired by Shetland lace. The effect it has on how you view the woodland and the landscape around it is quite mesmerising. In the artist’s words:

Trapping the essence of the place and framing an ever changing imprint of it.

Oh and the cafe is splendid as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.