Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Douglas Fir Cones

First of all, thank you so much for all the very kind comments on my birthday SP. I confess that when I looked at the thumbnails and see this big face looking out I was anxious to replace it. Sort of like going by the mirror and not looking. And --I think I knew this but had forgotten that Freespiral is also a Virgo so when she showed up I wasn’t all that surprised --but fun to have them rate someone's idea of “Virgo traits.” Thanks, virgos! The only one we don't seem to agree on is the "unemotional" (reserved? )- I'm happy there are other disorganized virgos out there.

Earlier this summer I blipped the big douglas fir trees that live in this part of the world, with a promise to show the cone sometime. So here is the fir cone with it’s distinguishing characteristic --what looks like lots of little mice with tails scurrying into it. The douglas squirrels love these seeds and leave piles of the scales on the ground where they have taken them apart. And there are little doug fir saplings growing everywhere.
And one can always turn them into Canada Geese! (idea from a friend who was here this summer....Can’t you see a mobile of a bunch of these flying in formation?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.