Aspiring Amateur

By MegB

Adventurous Ascent

It was sad saying goodbye to Lake Crescent today.

Driving to Sequim we passed the entrance to Hurricane Ridge and I thought about stopping since my husband seemed to be enamored with the mountains. So, when our last opportunity presented itself to drive up into the Olympic mountain range I took it by driving on Deer Park Rd.

We drove about 5 miles and then the road became a dirt road. Okay, not bad.

Well, then the road became virtually a one lane road and it was a twisting & turning road. Thank goodness we only encountered one other car on the way up and we were able to make room for one another. My husband kept asking how high we were going to go.

We made it to the ranger station at close to 6,000 feet elevation where there was no ranger on duty. My heart was beating out of my chest due to the treacherous ride and I'm not sure we took full advantage of the view.

This photo was taken after we had already started our descent and, as you can see, I did not even walk over to the other side of the road so that the road was not in the picture!

Ah, back to the safety of Sequim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.