The second half of life..

By twigs

Rebuild

Not surprisingly I slept rather well last night.

M came round to see me and drop off something I'd forgotten yesterday and I was shocked to see her dissolve into tears as I was saying thankyou and goodbye. Things on the home front had been very difficult for her this week and she'd been keeping it all very tightly to herself. She told me a little of what she had been dealing with and it all became a bit too much for her. We chatted a while then she had to leave to get to the airport to pick hubby up. I hope things are looking a bit brighter for you soon M.

I spent some ofthe morning re-packing my bags then decided I'd take a deep breath and head to Christchurch city to survey the re-emerging city.

I'm stunned. It's 3 years post-quake and the city is a like a wounded soldier . . . . . so much damage, so many derelict sections where homes and businesses used to stand, so many traffic re-routes, so many cones . . . . . . and so eerily quiet as everyone just gets on with what they need to do, but so much heart and evidence of the desire to move forward. in particular, the Re-Start Mall in Cashel St is bright, vibrant and very buzzy. I took another deep breath and went into the 'Quake City' exhibition which walks you through the before, during and after of the quakes. Incredibly moving.

Now I'm at Christchurch airport where, for the first time ever in my life, I arrived early for a plane! So early the check in wasn't even open for my flight yet! Twiddle thumbs, walk, post blip. All good :)

Next blip - Kuala Lumpur airport maybe . . . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.