Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes

I love my Thai friends. And I love cooking. Today had a great combination of the two.

After small group, we made pancakes. The experience was a first for all of my friends. After deciphering the recipe and finding the right setting on our electric burner, we started cooking. First, a regular one. Then we tried a few with bananas. Then we added some chocolate chips.

Duu came up shaking a container of sprinkles. (Who knows where those came from!) "Can we add these?" She asked. So we had pancakes with sprinkles too. My favorite was when we put jam in the batter. (A first for me too.) The whole batter turned purplish and tasted fruity. I'd definitely do that again.

The whole experience brought back memories of Saturday mornings with my mom and grandma. I passed on the tricks they taught me for testing if the pan is ready with a drop of water, watching for the bubbles to know when to flip, and being creative and open-minded when trying new combinations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.