Anniemay

By Anniemay

Memento

I seem to have collected an awful lot of mementos over the years. I suppose by the time you reach my age that's to be expected. I was looking through some of the boxes of "stuff" today trying to find something to blip for the challenge. There were photographs, cards, trinkets, ornaments, stuffed toys. You name it I've saved it. I even found my first ever mobile phone. One that only stored phone numbers and made and received calls. It didn't even send text messages.
It occurred to me that when I'm gone none of the things I've saved will mean anything to anyone else. Someone, probably one of my children, will come along and sort out the boxes and scratch their heads about why the stuff is there.
For example, this was a present given to me by someone I worked with about 15 years ago. I was going through a bit of a rough patch so when she went to Florida she brought back this can of "Florida Sunshine". She said I was only to open it when I was really, really in need of it. In all the years I've had it things have never been bad enough for me to need to open the can. I'm keeping it for a real emergency. It's comforting to have it there and to know that someone cared enough to give it to me. No one will know that. They'll just look at it and wonder. Mementos are like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.