PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

White-backed Mousebird

Colius colius

The day didn't start out wonderfully I have to admit! I woke up and still had cankles (maybe rhino size today though) and then my early morning shuttle bus to Swakopmund never turned up! They left without me, so I spent the next hour a little bit stressed but was eventually able to get on an afternoon bus :-).

So I spent the morning walking around the thriving metropolis of Namib's capital city Windhoek. This stunning mousebird was hanging out in the trees of my backpackers and turns out he's actually not so common to see outside the capital so I'm glad I paid him some attention!

The shuttle journey to Swakopmund in the afternoon was thoroughly enjoyable with quite a few 'firsts' in the wildlife department:
Warthog
Ostrich
Helmeted guinea-fowl
Southern yellow-billed hornbill, and
An unidentified antelope

Not to mention the breathtaking scenery!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.