Typhoon

Today we had a family day out at Leuchars Air Show. I had got tickets for our birthday as Rob is a plane geek, and I love seeing them too.
I used to go to Leuchars Air show when I was a kid, with my Gran and Grandad McKenzie and the rest of my family. My grandad was into model airplanes and had been in the RAF as well, and I always loved as a kid seeing the different planes from past and present.
Leuchars is also where I spent 4 days doing weather observer training as part of my Met Office training, so it was great to be able to be near the runway again and see everything.
We weren't expecting much from the weather, so we were pleasantly surprised to see the sunshine. As a Fifer I should know that it's always sunny in Fife.
There were lots of aerial displays, especially lots with different Eurofighter Typhoons, like this one in the blip. They're very noisy. Really very noisy, especially on take off when you're near them. Tinnitus may be a problem tomorrow.
There was also the Red Arrows doing their displays, a few aerobatic displays, a Catalina with an amazing VC story told at the same time of John Cruickshank, which gained one of the biggest applauses of the day. What was even more amazing is that at the age of 94 he was able to fly the Catalina again yesterday at Leuchars.
The final aerial display was a Spitfire, Hurricane, and Lancaster Bomber from the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight. Seeing these planes fly is always a special pleasure.
It's been a fab day, and much respect to everyone at the Airshow for the amazing organisation of it all.
However, it's sad that this is the last year that it will be held as Leuchars is changing to an Army base in 2015, and the Typhoon squadrons are moving to Lossiemouth. It still sits very uncomfortably with me that the base will no longer be a fighter squadron base, and I do hope that they can sort out a way to keep the Airshow going somehow in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.