Awesome Kid Badge

I woke up still quite painful from the suspected meningitis, but fortunately, I improved as the day progressed. I was called in to work to look at a beautiful 8 month old lab puppy who is gravely ill. Bob enthusiastically came along, insisting on wearing his veterinarian lab coat filled with gadgets (and with the name tag now saying "Bob" in his own handwriting) in the car (where it was a little difficult getting the car seat straps to accommodate the tools of his trade). Once we were there, Bob sat patiently watching the dog's ultrasound. He joined me in the room with the owner where we had a lengthy discussion about the dog's problems, the plan, and his potential quality of life going forward. Bob then he had to amuse himself while I wrote up my reports - a 2 hour visit in all. And he was SOOOO good the whole time. The staff and the owner are immensely worried about this dog and they all had a good laugh watching Bob strut around in his lab coat taking veterinary medicine quite so seriously! The GP vet has done a fantastic job managing this case. We have a good plan for the puppy and I think he will improve from here.

As we were leaving, I asked Bob what treat he would like for his excellent behavior today - a piece of cake, ice cream, a small toy? He asked for a badge with a star on it.

I am hopeless when it comes to drawing. But he seemed to like the badge nonetheless.

Infusion #2 tomorrow. Please send your prayers, good vibes, happy thoughts, etc to Northern Westchester County, NY tomorrow. Thanks!

8/12/09 - the puppy went home doing quite well! I love saving animals!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.