A source of inspiration

There are some locations in the world that photographers love and have surely inspired many people to initially start to take landscape photography. Buachaille Etive Mòr is one of those places. I camped out about 200m from this particular location to get to the spot I wanted before the dawn light as there is usually a queue of photographers around the mountain. The wise thing would have been to have arrived at the camping place before it got dark however instead I struggled to erect the tent wearing just a head torch and being bitten to death by the teeth with wings (midges) that swarm around the river.

Eventually I got the tent up and made a quite reasonable pot of pasta and sauce then a large dram which I hoped would help me sleep. Not much chance though as there were deer wandering past the tent most of the night. The lack of sleep helped me get up and be the first photographer about so I got this plumb spot and started to set up (again being bitten by the midges). Disaster struck though as I hunted throughout my bag and couldn't find my filter holder which I thought must have dropped out in my haste to get out of the rain at Loch Katrine. I shot a few frames hand holding the filters against the lens and wasn't getting great results so I started to pack up and move back to the tent to get some porridge. As I was leaving, one of the other photographers I had been chatting to pointed out a gorgeous band of light heading back toward the mountain so I headed back to my same spot and there lying in the trees was my filter holder! It must have been divine intervention for the light to appear and force me back to find it!

I'm quite pleased with the result once I had my full kit and the fact that this location has inspired so many people gives me the chance to put it into the Weekly Blip Challenge as my entry for the theme of Inspired

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.