Life's tangled skein

By atp

Union Canal Cyclist

This is not a natural-looking shot, I know. But I loved the way that this HDR effect seemed to turn the dull, murky dark greens of the canal banks into a living riot of colour, wit garish variations in hue that look more at home in a rainforest than just outside Linlithgow. I also like the way that the only colour in the picture that isn't green (or grey) is the equipment on the bicycle.

This wasn't the cycling picture I expected to take today. The annual "Pedal For Scotland" Glasgow to Edinburgh cycle run goes within a mile or so of my house, and I was expecting to take some exciting picture of bemuscled cyclists powering their way up the nearby hills.

But... well, things didn't quite work out that way. My mum came to visit, and we all went for a walk along the canal. By the time we reached the restaurant where this picture was taken, only the last few cyclists were passing, and I didn't get the feeling that they wanted their pictures plastered over the internet. So instead, some anonymous person cycling along the canal was chosen instead!

Oh well, them's the breaks :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.