Julesey's

By Julesey

Bonkers about Bake off

Could the muffin challenge really be that hard? Seasoned bakers unable to get 8 uniform muffins, undercooked, over cooked , you name it .
So I got out my 1955 Good Housekeeping book ( rescued from a gutter in Hereford where some poor sod had tried to set fire to it to keep warm- and failed) and turned to 'yeast cookery'
All this 'beat by hand' stuff was a bit tiring , then ' leave to rise for 5 hours surprised me (as it was rapid action yeast I left them for 2 hours) but fair play. The dough looked great.
Cutting the very wet dough was another matter and I soon saw how hard it was to get them an even shape. I got my griddle pan out and did a couple of test pieces ( idea nicked from a successful contestant on Bake Off) and adjusted the heat accordingly.
The end result was very edible indeed , though they were all different shapes and sizes.

Think I may need a rest before I tackle that Angel Food Cake

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.