it's time...

...to remember

a memory - for today, at least - one from a long time ago - as i was cleaning out some things - i came across this little paper clock - memories came flooding back to me - of sitting on my daddy's lap - when i was just a little girl - learning to tell time - this was sent home with me - to help me in the process, back in the day... i remember like it was yesterday - (i guess that's what bonding is all about - when you spend such precious moments together with a loved one - the memory is seared into your brain forever - not to escape - to be recalled at such a time as this) - for now, i'm seeing it as though i could reach out - touch it - right in front of me - me and daddy - together again - him spinning the dial - me trying to guess the time - clapping my tiny hands when i get it right - him smiling at me - funny how that works, isn't it? what a piece of paper can do...

now that daddy has been gone - out of my life in a real way - for going on almost 6 years - these kinds of memories catch me a bit more off guard - a bit more unprepared - galloping up on me - yet in a good way - because i look at that little girl, seeing how absorbed she was - in the time she was spending with her daddy - taking advantage of those moments without really realizing just how precious they would become - so very many years later - and now - now... how they've turned this day - into...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.