Pisky29

By Pisky29

Catastrophe to Crown

ok, must admit I've got my Blips out of correct date order somehow, comes from sometimes posting around midnight!

So, this in fact for yesterday (Sunday).

I was invited to the opening of an exhibition by the artist Iona Leishman, at the Chapel Royal in Stirling Castle, commemorating 500 years since the Battle of Flodden,

The clash, on 9 September 1513 cost the lives of King James IV and 10,000 Scotsmen from nobles and knights to peasants. The king’s invasion of England in support of his French allies is still remembered as one of the greatest military catastrophes to befall the kingdom – with the losses including the king, three bishops, 12 earls and 13 barons.

My friend Jo and I found Iona’s exhibition outstanding, powerful and emotive. She uses it to explore the battle and the momentous events it triggered. It runs for three weeks as part of a range of commemorative activities and events at Stirling Castle – one of the James IV’s great royal residences.

I though a pic of one of her paintings might be in order.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.